This Is How You Can Find The Strength To Cut Toxic People From Your Life

It’s confession time: I’ve got a destructive habit and it’s starting to get the best of me. I hold on and cling to people who don’t deserve to stay in my life. Recently, it’s gotten a bit out of hand. I think it might be time for an intervention.Since I can remember, I’ve never been one to gracefully let go of people. Gripping on to them until there is nothing left to even be holding on too. I give others more chances then they deserve. Letting them steal more than they should ever be allowed to take. Trying over and over again, only to get hurt over and over. Giving and giving, to only have more removed away from me.

I wish I knew why I keep putting myself through this. You would think after all this time I would have learned my lesson. But I guess not.

Maybe it’s because I expect too much from others. Creating unrealistic expectations, which only leading me straight to disappointment. It’s possibly because I’ve never been one to intentionally hurt others. I know what it feels like to completely be destroyed by another. I promised myself a long time ago I’d never put anyone else through that much pain and agony. I allow others linger in my life because I’m too scared of hurting them during the process of letting them go.

Who knows why I keep doing this to myself. But in the end, it’s beside the point. The important thing is what I’m doing about it all. That’s one question I do have a brilliant answer for: nothing.

Why do we keep putting ourselves in so much pain in agony over one person? We give and give, only to be disappointed in the end. What is the point of holding on to someone who is not 100 percent there? We are better than this. We can do much better than this.

Alright babies, here we go. It’s time for me to start taking my own advice. I sit here behind this computer screen telling you to cut out the negative people in your life. Giving you guidance on how to finally move on from another. I share all this advice, and then don’t even take any of it myself. It’s not fair to you, and it sure as heck isn’t fair to me.

So lets do this together. I, (enter name here), vow to stop permitting people who treat me wrong to be apart of my life anymore.

I want to do this together, you and me. It’s time for us to stand up for ourselves. Stop letting people consistently take and take from us. There is no need of us to go at this alone. By each other’s side, we can finally cut out the ones who are hurting our hearts and souls.

It’s our time to take a stance. Say the things were too afraid to say. Do the things our gut has been trying to get us to do for ages now. Delete the messages that need to be erased. Stop replying to the people who only deserve silence. Ultimately, we need to move on from the people who have no place in our lives anymore.

I’ll believe in you, if you promise to believe in me. Let’s give each other the strength we have both been struggling to find. Help one another do the things we know will improve our lives.

We both know this is the right thing to do, but for some reason we can’t find the strength to take that first step. Not everyone is meant to stay in our lives forever. We must let them teach us what they are meant too, and then keep on moving on our own path. Perhaps we will bump into them somewhere down the road. Or maybe we won’t. But for now, we both know what needs to be done. Let’s cut those strings and finally set ourselves free. Time to put down all that extra weight. We no longer need to carry it around with us.

So what do you say? I’ll jump, but only if you jump with me. Take my hand, and let’s end this dependency together. Time to free our hearts and souls.

Do what is best for ourselves, without worrying about others. It’s about time you and I finally put ourselves first.

Leave a Reply

